Cycle tour East Frisia
Cycle tour to the Pilsum lighthouse
Distance: 29,8 km | Duration: 2:01 h | Difficulty: medium
A varied cycle tour from Camping am Deich to one of the most famous landmarks of East Frisia, the Pilsum lighthouse. The alternative route leads through picturesque and typical East Frisian villages, as the dike will be renovated here by 2022.
The route winds its way through the municipality of Krummhörn and some of its 18 Wharf villages. Hamswehrum, Groothusen, Manslagt and the destination Pilsum were built as Wharf village on a hill to protect against storm floods.
The Pilsum lighthouse was used to light the Emshörnrinne until June 1915. Since 1973 it has been easily recognisable by its red-yellow paint scheme. Today it is owned by the dike guard Krummhörn and can be visited. This income ensures its maintenance.
The lighthouse became particularly popular through the film "Otto – Der Außerfriesische" by the comedian Otto Waalkes. In the film the lighthouse serves Otto as a flat. It is therefore particularly worth taking a camera on tour!